Life.

What is the meaning of life?  I have been wondering this a lot lately.  What makes a life…one that’s worth living? 

Nothing says the meaning of life is important as being one’s mother.  Nothing I have ever done has been as important or meaningfull as this role that I am so grateful to have.  The person I was before my son is not who I am now.  I wouldn’t even recognize that girl if she walked up to me.  Yes we might look faintly the same.  We might smile with the same smile but, we are in fact two different people.  She is my past.  That is where she will always be.  My sense of self-worthiness, and self-importance was never something that was present to her. 

I never had a sense of what it was to live until I became who I am now.  I believe that the meaning of life is different to everyone.  But, I in fact have found that my meaning to life is a Mosaic of feelings, moments, and events that have happened and are happening to me.  I believe that I lived up until this point in my life to be my son’s mother, and that there is not a greater gift that I could give the world than to be who I am supposed to be.  To finally be on the path that God has laid out for me and to be the person that I was born 24 years ago to be but, took 22 years to find.  All this time here I was, waiting, hoping, and praying to be able to show myself.  To be able to let go of the things that have done harm to me and grasps tightly on the moments I could live in forever. 

The meaning of life to me is living.  To appreciate who you are and who you where.  To remember that people have a past before you judge their present.  To let go of dreams that never would be and embrace dreams that were written for you.  You will never be in yesterday and tomorrow never comes, do right by yourself, and do right by others. 

 

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

Dr Seuss

 

“Be the change that you want to see in the world.”

Mahatma Gandhi


Leave a Reply

