Shawshank Redemption

Cover of "The Shawshank Redemption"
Cover of The Shawshank Redemption

Well HELLLLLLOOOOO THERE!  I have been doing a lot of self evaluation and mediation lately and one thing I come back to over and over again are things that make me happy.  Things that evoke emotions in me and make me want to believe all things ARE possible.

When I was ten years old I discovered a movie.  This movie has stayed with me for the last 15 years.  It has been there through ups and downs and has consistently given me something that generic B movies of today just can’t give me.

Shawshank Redemption!

If you haven’t seen this movie you are MISSING OUT!  It is my all time favorite movie.  I have probably watched over 100 times throughout my life.  It used to come on TBS when I was growing up.  So I would watch it about once a month or so for the longest time.  I was SO surprised to learn that the movie is based on a Stephen King novella,   Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption.  The movie came out in 1994 is about a banker, Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) who in the 1940s who is wrongly accused of killing his wife and her lover in a drunk tirade.  He is sentenced to life in prison.  He is befriended by Red (Morgan Freeman) and the movie explores their friendship in and out of prison.  I won’t say too much because it will completely give the movie away but, obviously any movie that has the two of them in it is going to be worth watching.

A few quotes from the movies that I absolutely LOVE!

“I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t wanna know. Some things are best left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful it can’t be expressed in words, and it makes your heart ache because of it. I tell you those voices soared, higher and farther than anybody in a grey place dares to dream. It was like some beautiful bird flapped into our drab little cage and made these walls dissolve away, and for the briefest of moments, every last man in Shawshank felt free” –RED

 

(If you don’t want spoilers don’t read this one)

“Andy crawled to freedom through five hundred yards of shit-smelling foulness I can’t even imagine- or maybe I just don’t want to. Five hundred yards… that’s the length of five football fields; just shy of half a mile…………..Andy Dufresne, who crawled through a river of shit and came out clean on the other side”-Red

 

“There’s not a day goes by that I don’t feel regret. Not because I’m in here, or because you think I should. I look back on the way I was then: a young, stupid kid who committed that terrible crime. I want to talk to him. I want to try to talk some sense to him, tell him the way things are. But I can’t. That kid’s long gone and this old man is all that’s left. I gotta live with that. Rehabilitated? It’s just a bullshit word. So go ahead and stamp your forms, sonny, and stop wasting my time. Because to tell you the truth, I don’t give a shit.” –Red

 

This movie is just one of those timeless classic movies that people can relate to.  We have all been on a journey that we didn’t have power over and tried to find a way out while also trying to find pieces of happiness in all of the leftovers. Its just one of those movies that just about every fifth or so line is a quote that evokes all of your senses to embark on this journey that takes you places movies nowadays just don’t.

CHECK THIS MOVIE OUT!  And if you HAVE seen it!  See It again!  I will probably watch it tonight! J

Thanks for reading!

Xoxo

-Tiffany


10 thoughts on “Shawshank Redemption

  1. To be “ShawShanked” To be inexplicably compelled to watch the rest of (or all of if possible) the ShawShank redemption Despite any other plans you may have had and anytime you are confronted with an said opportunity.

    “Remember Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.”

    Like

  2. Thanks for the like on my blog. I have somehow never seen this movie, but it sounds like need to get a copy of it. (thanks for the spoiler waring, I made sure not to read that
    ) So, thank you for the movie idea!

    Like

  3. I love Morgan Freeman but can’t say I’ve ever seen this movie!!! My husband and I need to check it out. Thank you for sharing. The movies that stay with us forever are the best ❤ Thanks for stopping by my page too!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

