Thankful.

When the road looks rough ahead,
And you’re miles and miles from your nice warm bed
You just remember what your old pal said,
Boy, you’ve got a friend in me

Toy story

 

Happy Thanksgiving 2013 Yall!  And, Happy Day to anybody who isn’t in the U.S. or celebrating this holiday.  Most importantly today is a day to reflect on the year and remember just exactly what we are grateful for.

I am grateful for so many things, my job, my friends, my family, and obviously my son who is just the best.  Today I am going to talk about someone who came into my life as a stranger but, is my best best friend.

I am so grateful for my best friend Katie.   We had gone to the same high school but I was a senior when she was a freshman.  Fast forward a few years and I am 22 and she is 19.  She started working at my job and I thought she was nice, a little quite, but, nice.  It was around Halloween and our alma matter was throwing a haunted house to raise money for prom.

The people I was supposed to go to the haunted house with ended up backing out, so this girl I had barely had a few conversations with told me she would go with me but, she didn’t really like scary things.

We met that night at the school, me about five months pregnant and her with a major fear of clowns that she didn’t tell me about.  We small talked on the way into the haunted house and when we got in she grabbed on to the new principal of the high school and left me following behind.  Good thing I love scary things.

We made it ALMOST all the way through the haunted house when BAM! Bozo the freaking clown just had to appear! She ran, I’m talking full sprints to the nearest exit leaving my pregnant butt behind.  I ran after her and made it outside.  She just kept running then out of nowhere a guy with a chainsaw (without the chain) started chasing us, this made her scream even more and run even faster.  We finally got to the parking lot, said a few words and left each other.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect, I mean she did leave a pregnant girl in a haunted house to fend for her own.  But, soon enough we became the best of friends.  I tease her about this story all of the time.  But, she hasn’t ever let me down except of course when she actually left me in the haunted house.  HA!  She is just one of those people that is so genuine and a good person, you can’t find that in people very often anymore.

She was there for me when I had my son, she was there when he said his first few words, she came over the first night he sat up by himself.  She held him so many times even after he peed all over her on multiple occasions.  She was there at his first Christmas, his first birthday, his second birthday and second Christmas.  She is helping me plan his third birthday coming up in March, already giving me ideas and texting me when she finds supplies we will need.  My son calls her Aunt KK, and thinks she is just the best.  Most importantly she has just been there, even if she isn’t physically there.  She is just there.  She gave me hope that people are good when, I was going through hell.  She never misses an opportunity for a photo op, a random present or random trips all around the state all in the name of kid activities.

katie at baby shwoer

Robin, Katie, Me (very pregnant) and Michelle

at my baby shower!

 me and katie

Waiting with me at the hospital to pop this baby out!

 katie and halen

First time Aunt KK gets to hold Halen

jumping

Aunt KK (in the stripes) Me and HayHay at his second birthday, we had a blast, who else is going to act like a child with you than your best friend.

 me and kk

   Just us!

                She is my family, she is my sons’ family and she has always encouraged me.  She has cried when I have cried and laughed when I have laughed but, most importantly she doesn’t care that my son isn’t her biological nephew he in all of his glory is her nephew and she loves him more than he will ever know.  For someone like that to be in our lives I am eternally grateful.

I hope that everyone has someone like this.  It’s very important for single parents to have people that really fill their lives and their child’s lives with happiness.  When the time comes for the child to start asking questions that you don’t have the answer to, it’s good to be surrounded by people that even though they don’t have the answers either, they will support you and guide you through times of need.

I hope everyone has a wonderful turkey day, or just day!

Thanks for reading!

-xoxo

Tiffany


7 thoughts on “Thankful.

  1. Hi, that is a lovely story. As a single parent myself I can really relate to it. Even though we don’t have thanksgiving in Australia, happy thanksgiving to you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

