Your People.

best-friends-friendship-quotes

 

Last night I woke up about three in the morning, since becoming a mother I wake up every few hours (still) to check on my son.  As I walked by a floor to ceiling window, I decided to just take a look out at the still life that the middle of the night brings.  The window is on the second story and is overlooking the backyard.  The trees have long lost their leaves and you can see for a ways all across the mountains.  I saw multiple different lights shining through the night forest.  It made me think about just how vulnerable we all are.  All of us, in the middle of the night sleeping in our beds, without a care in the world, shutting ourselves off until morning light.  It is long past dusk and a halfway until dawn.

Isn’t life a lot like this?  We start out on a journey it’s sometimes really beautiful as a sunset, or even tragic like a bare cloudy sunset.  In the middle of our journey we often times forget about the beginning or the end and we are just in the middle.  And then when the sun comes up, and the clouds are gone over our troubles everything seems right again.

As I thought about this I wondered about my middle of the night people, my people that are there for me in the middle of my journey.  Those that have long seen the beautiful sunset, and are sticking with me in the middle of my journey.  There are always those people who say, “I’ll be there just call me,” before or during the beginning of our journeys.  They always express how much they will be there, even though that is just a nice passing thought.

Then there are those people who are there in the end of the journey.  Those people you haven’t heard from in months and only come around at the end of something almost to take credit like they have always been there.

And then there are those people who are just there, beginning, middle and end.  They support you, they listen to you, and they know the whole story, and probably have heard it dozens of times but, that doesn’t matter.  They are still just there.

Which kind of friend are you?  Or are you a different friend to different people?  Obviously we can’t always be there all the time for everyone.  Life goes on and it’s tough to keep up with the play-by-plays of everyone’s lives as they happen.  But, being a good friend should never be one of your short comings. 

I know I have a lot to work on as being a friend, for myself, and for others.  I once heard long ago, that when you get older you will be able to count your good true friends on one hand.  I didn’t think this was true until I got out of high school, into college, and then into the real world.  This is so true.  I want to be able to be counted on multiple people’s hands; I want to be that friend that sees the story from beginning to end.  The sun always comes up, and the day always starts again.  But, you don’t always get that chance, unless you make it, and make time for the people that matter.

Well, I am off to have a wonderful day with my little love.  I hope everyone has a great day!

-XOXO

Tiffany 

 

 

Image from:  www.inspirationalquoteslog.com

 


3 thoughts on “Your People.

  1. Oh, this is a beautiful thought. I’m a different friend for different people. I’m glad that I’m friends with a few people since the beginning and I’m sure we’ll stay friends ’til the end. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I am also different friends to different people. I mean I guess it has a lot to do with each person. Some people you are just going to be naturally closer to and some people you will find yourself only checking in on every once in a while. But, over all I would .like my quality of the friendship that I give to improve! Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

