My Twain.

 

mark twain quotes about truth

I was walking through Hastings bookstore the other day and my eyes meet this very handsome young mans eyes. His eyes were so familiar.  I had seen them before, beautiful and wise.  His hair was wildly swept along the sides of his face.  He was very well kept unlike how I had remembered him.  He had this particular look in him that I have seen in myself.  This look that the world sometimes doesn’t understand you because you aren’t what they want you to be, you are who you are, and you aren’t going to change that.  His familiarity was pleasant. 

 

auto of mark twain

This is the picture I saw from this book.

I was taken back at how this man I had seen so many times, in many pictures looked when he was younger.  To be able see him for the first time, before he said all of his famous quotes, before he wrote all of his stories, is in a sense sort of strange, I am so used to this old gray hair man. But this is just when he was just the beginning phases of who he would eventually be and what he would in time mean to the literary world.

Mark Twain has penned many amazing works.  Probably one of my favorites is his novel Pudd’nhead Wilson.   I love this work.  It is so well thought out.  I love reading books or watching movies that have been truly though out and leave little clues throughout the story.  This book embraces true American stigmas, culture, and values for the early part of the 19th century.

“There is no character, howsoever good and fine, but it can be destroyed by ridicule, howsoever poor and witless. Observe the ass, for instance: his character is about perfect, he is the choicest spirit among all the humbler animals, yet see what ridicule has brought him to. Instead of feeling complimented when we are called an ass, we are left in doubt.”

― Mark Twain, Pudd’nhead Wilson

If you haven’t read it check it out.  His work is just amazing.  I don’t even think I could accurately describe how great of an author that he is.  I have read Pudd’nhead twice the second time I defiantly fell more in love with the story.  I am sure when I read it again it will happen all over again!

I haven’t read all of his works but, I would think that this is one of his best (for me personally.)  As I move through his work I am sure I will find a multitude of others that I enjoy just as much.

Anyway if you are looking for a good read for the holiday pick up some Twain you really can’t ever go wrong.

Thanks for reading!  I hope you have a wonderful day!

-xoxo

Tiffany

 

images come from : http://www.audible.com/pd/Bios-Memoirs/Autobiography-of-Mark-Twain-Vol-2-Audiobook/B00EIOMF3Y?source_code=GO1DG9048SH080912&gclid=CMuMv9aKmrsCFcFj7AodjyAAOw&mkwid=sERMhwKBC_dc&pkw=PLA&pmt=broad&pcrid=35178946089

www.mediawebapps.com

 

 


3 thoughts on “My Twain.

Leave a Reply

