I rather pass my time reading a book than be on my phone.

the-man-who-does-not3_med_hr

Wellllll Helllllloooooo there!

I haven’t had time to properly write a blog in days.  I have been really busy with various this and that’s but really I just haven’t sat down to write anything.  I have done something I haven’t done in a while and that is to read books.  Well you might ask why haven’t you read any books?  Well I honestly have no idea.  Maybe because my life the last few years has consisted on going and going and going with being a parent, going to school, having work and the various million other things I seem to do.  But, I haven’t had time to really get into a book.  I think that shamefully the last book I read was in February maybe (maybe) I read one over the summer but, I don’t remember.  A few weeks ago I had an eye doctor appointment to get new contacts and I grabbed a book from the store to read.

I really hate being in public and on my phone.  Call me old-fashion but, I never want to forget that there is an actual psychical world that surrounds me when I am sitting in a waiting room There is just something so strange about a group of people being in the same room but, all on a different form of device sorting through random insignificant bustling of the internet.  True that reading a book is still not being connected to the physical world per se but, it seems to me that someone that is reading a book in a waiting room is more approachable.  It says something that they aren’t so tied up on liking FB post and twitting about their lunch.

I don’t know I just rather pass my time caught up in a book than in the random nothingness that social media seems to bring these days.  At least more than anything you can talk to someone about the book they are reading, you can ask about it so effortlessly for a conversation starter or just to be nice.  But, really if you look on someone’s phone it looks like you are being noisy and it’s too impersonal, to ask why they are looking at someone’s instagram or FacebookSomething about books calls for a more open ended conversation.  And there is also this whole thing about how reading helps the brain, it’s really quite interesting actually.  (HA!)

So I got a book called The Atlas of Love by Laurie Frankel.  It was a wonderful book.  I am a very fast reader so I got through about half of it while waiting to get my contacts.  I finally got to sit down and finish reading it the other night and it was just a lovely book.  Fast pace, well put together and very pleasantly surprising.  I enjoyed it.

 the atlas of love

For a few weeks now I have wanted to get Ransom Rigg’s book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar ChildrenSo yesterday before work I went and got it.  I was like a kid in a toy store, I couldn’t wait to start reading it and I started this morning.  I am in love.  It is everything I have hoped for it to be, and I am probably going to finish it within the next few days in between work and school.

miss peregrines home

It’s quite strange that I have gone so long without reading.  I am usually looking for a new book all of the time to read but, for some reason I just haven’t gotten the chance to enjoy books here lately.  Most importantly you can’t be a good writer without reading so I need to open up my mind more and expand my book that I have read.  I have just started a new novel I am writing, and I have to say I am so excited about it.  This is probably the biggest reason I started reading again!

Do you have any suggestions for good books?  I am open to anything!

I hope everyone is having a lovely week!

Thanks for reading!

-xoxo

Tiffany

Quote image from: www.janthompson.com


7 thoughts on “I rather pass my time reading a book than be on my phone.

  1. Tiffany…I also love to read good books. So glad you wrote about this! I love good books so much it’s difficult to recommend but I’ll give it a try, by listing some of my favorite writers and a few of their books…*Any* book by the (woman) writer Lee Smith…such as “The Devil’s Dream,” “Fair and Tender Ladies” and the wonderful list goes on. Also, just about any book by Anne Tyler…especially “Celestial Navigations” Tyler wrote “The Accidental Tourist” which was made into a movie. Some favorite male authors include Pat Conroy (“The Prince of Tides” won the Pulitzer (I think)…Clyde Edgerton (humor). Also “Angela’s Ashes” by Frank McCourt (sad but riveting and sometimes funny)…other great lady writers include Kaye Gibbons, Elizabeth Berg and Fannie Flagg (“Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe” was made into the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” Look! I’ve written a book about books! *Thank you* for listening:)

    Like

  2. The difference in comparison with what you call the random nothingness books give you good thoughts about life. One of the good books I read lastly: A Fine Balance by rohinton mistry.

    Like

  3. I’d rather pass my time with a book, too. I bring books to read to all my appointments. When I take myself out to the coffee shop, I’m either reading or art journaling or doodling.

    I wrote a smart-aleck post about it.

    http://thesprightlywriter.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/if-you-see-me-at-starbucks/

    Also, even though its for the teenage set, you might really like Backwater by Joan Bauer. I was reading it to my 11 year old daughter (I didn’t HAVE to read it, I WANTED to read it).

    Anything by Paolo Coelho is absolutely beautiful. My favorites are 11 Minutes, Veronika Decides to Die and The Alchemist.

    Haruki Mirakami is really good too. Yes, he’s Japanese, but his books cover universal themes. I only read South of the Border, West of the Sun, but I plan to read more.

    Have you read The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller?

    Or Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert?

    Have you read the Hunger Games series?

    These have all stood out for me.

    I’m going to see if my library has that Miss Peregrine’s Home…it sounds very interesting.

    Like

  4. I like to read as well and recently went “Unplugged” for the year to get more reading and writing done. Please see my post under the same title on my blog to understand what I mean by this. Some good books I’ve read, Many Lives, Many Masters by Dr. Brian Weiss, Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven both by Mitch Albom. Another great, super quick read is Who Moved my Cheese by Dr. Spencer Johnson. I am currently reading the Biology of Belief: Unleashing the Power of Consciousness, Matter, & Miracles by Dr. Bruce H. Lipton. Hope this list gives you some interest. Good luck with your reading and writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

