DIY : Homemade Laundry detergent

Helloooo there

So a few weeks ago I ran across some homemade laundry detergent post.  So I thought of course I can do this.

I use a form of the same recipe found at this great DIY website.

image

You will need:
A cheese grater
1 bar of Fels-naptha
1 box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing  Soda
1 box of Borax

Word of advice: This can get a little messy.

image

You will also need a large bowl.

You simply pour the washing soda and the borax in the bowl.

image

image

Then the part that takes a little longer is grating the soap bar.

image

It actually looks like cheese when you are doing it.

Then you mix it all together.

image

And there you go!  Homemade Laundry detergent.

I stored mine in a water jug and a sauce jar.

image

This all breaks down to about. 04 a load.  And you use 1-2 tbsp for each load.

I did a load last night with it and I was impressed with the detergent.  I am keeping up with how many loads I actually end up doing so I really can compare the money spent to the loads done.

The fels-naptha bar was .97
The borax was 3.97
The washing soda was 3.97

This is a super simple DIY.  My 3-year-Old helped grate and stir.  In total it took about 20 minutes. 

Make sure you have something to pour the finished product into the container.  I didn’t so I improvised.

image

And it actually worked!

Hope you enjoy this as much as I did making it.

Until next time

-XO

Tiffany


7 thoughts on “DIY : Homemade Laundry detergent

Leave a Reply

