The Chattanooga Fallen Four. One is from my town.

Yesterday, while I was playing Lego’s with my four-year-old, both of us without a care in the world, my phone went off.  I get CNN updates and the first one said there was “an active shooter.”  Those are the only words I read.  It sent chills through my spine.  Once again there was an active shooter somewhere?  Why I thought over and over again in my head. WHY?  Why do people have to do such horrible things?

After a few other updates, I finally got the message saying that the shooter had been killed.  It wasn’t until later that evening after I got home I looked at the rest of the CNN updates that had been sent.  FOUR people lost their lives.  WHY?  I thought again.

I went to bed with a heavy heart.

It is so scary when these things happen.

It is horrible.

Today for lunch my son and I went to my parents house.  I decided to cook everyone lunch and right as I started chopping up onions and firing up the stove, the phone rings.  It was my sister, she keeps up with all of the military stuff that goes on, her son (my nephew) is a Marine. 48 years after my Dad left for Camp Pendelton so did my nephew.  My sister told my dad some shocking news.  One of the fallen was from our town.  My immediate reaction was WHO?  I didn’t know any of the ages and nothing had been released the night before.

Staff Sgt. David A Wyatt

He had graduated from high school here and has family here.

He had a family.  He had a wife and two kids.  He had a future.

You can read a great article from the local paper here about him and his life.

The other three Marines:

Gunnery Sgt. Thomas J. Sullivan

Sgt. Carson A. Holmquist

Lance Cpl. Squire “Skip” K. Wells

You can read about them here

I don’t have a lot more to say.  It is a sad time for these families that will be forever changed and for our nation.

The Tennessean has set up a fund to help out the families.  You can check it out here.

-Tiffany


2 thoughts on “The Chattanooga Fallen Four. One is from my town.

Leave a Reply

